Your music plays on…

July 5, 2010

Let’s have a little quiz right here. I’ll give a list of names and tell me what is or what are the common things among them. Ready? Here we go!

1.) Hideto Matsumoto (X-Japan)

2.) John Lennon (The Beatles)

3.) Kurt Cobain (Nirvana)

4.) Cliff Burton (Metallica)

5.) Tupac

6.) Jimi Hendrix

7.) Freddie Mercury (Queen)

8.) Michael Jackson

9.) Jim Morrison (The Doors)

10.) Layne Staley (Alice in Chains)

Still can’t figure it out? Well then, let me now do the talking. All of them were great musicians, singers and instrumentalists. Unfortunately, another thread among them is that they have all passed away. The ten names I have enumerated are the Top Ten Saddest Deaths in the music industry. Being a music lover, chikenlegs created an online poll at www.the-top-tens.com to come up with this list. Fans voted and wrote comments expressing their sentiments for the death of their idols. Aside from these ten, several music icons were also nominated: (1) legendary Reggae artist, Bob Marley, (2) beautiful soulful singer, Selena, and (3) Philippines’ Master Rapper, Francis M.

Why am I talking about this? I can’t deny the fact that I am a music lover. I sing solo, with a band or with my choir. I am fond of watching gigs, especially when my favorite bands play at Saguijo or Handlebar. I have met a lot of people in the local band scene, the band members themselves and their managers. I feel ecstatic during the times that I sing or I watch or listen bands and solo artists play. Music simply gives me life.

It was the morning of June 30, 2010, when I received a very sad news. Fran Ribano, Kjwan’s manager passed away due to aneurism and heart failure. She was such a sweet, beautiful lady. We became acquainted through Facebook. I sent her a request to add me up, she accepted it, and voila! We were “friends!” The next gig after we became Facebook friends, she approached me. We had a short yet meaningful conversation. She’d always greet me during the gigs that me and my friends watch. It was just frustrating to realize that our friendship, should I say, is superficial. It started on Facebook and ended on a few “His” and “Hellos” during gigs.

When I checked my Facebook account on the evening of June 30, 2010, I was surprised of the online efforts made for Ms. Fran. Even before she passed away, her Facebook wall was filled with “get well soon, Fran” and “we’re praying for you, Fran” posts from relatives, friends, and acquaintances. Until the time when Fran’s heart finally gave in, few of her friends even posted “you will be missed, Fran” or “Rest in Peace” as their status messages.

Fran’s Facebook wall was flooded with messages after she had passed away. A Facebook fanpage was even created for her. It was entitled “We love Fran Ribano.” Friends uploaded their most memorable photo with Fran. Fran’s relatives also posted invitations for people who would like to help in the preparation for the 4-day wake. In the page, there were regular updates of the mass schedules during the wake, the food sponsors for the day, the schedule of internment, and all the other important things needed for Fran’s wake.

Who would have thought that Facebook will be a way to inform everyone of Fran’s passing away? Who would have thought that the social media can be used for organizing such event as Fran’s memorial?

The Internet and the social media are indeed the most powerful tools humans can use today. The two are probably the most efficient avenues for communicating anything and everything, even announcing someone’s death. Aside from being efficient, I can see the potential of the Internet and the social media being effective avenues for communicating messages.

The Internet is quick, almost real time. Feedback to your message can be instantly communicated. One second you share an idea, the next second, people start to support or debunk your idea.

Bottomline is, the many opportunities that lie in the power of the Internet and the social media depend on us. We, as users of the technologies should be creative enough to think of ways on how the Internet and the social media could supplement our everyday living. I think you get it? Just do not let yourself to be confined in the readily available uses of the Internet and the social media.

Generate knowledge. Innovate ideas. Create possibilities.

 You will be missed, Ms. Fran!

 

Lean, Mean Entertainment Machine: Fran Ribano

____________________

To vote and to comment to the Top Ten Saddest Musicians’ Deaths, just click: http://www.the-top-tens.com/lists/saddest-musician-deaths.asp

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. slightlydillydallying
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 07:26:10

    The existence of social networking and the Internet are manifestations of human’s creativity. Sites like Facebook equip people with another avenue through which they can “generate knowledge, innovate ideas, and create possibilities”. These online networking portals may foster collaborative work–the essence of Wikinomics.

    Reply

  2. KC
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 04:23:55

    Another death in the music industry that saddened me is that of Aaliyah’s. She died on a plane crash for the shoot of her music video. 😦 Their lives proved that life is indeed short, and we have to make the most of it while we still can.

    NSM can really help us in comforting other people and showing support to those that they left. It can be effective, but still, there are things that might not sound as sincere when delivered via NSM.

    PS. Your title reminded me of one discussion in a meeting I attended in my youth org: Our life are like movies. When the credits roll, what is left is your soundtrack: your life’s main theme. Better leave a good soundtrack for you to be remembered by.

    Share lang. 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

