Year XIV

June 12, 2010

Happy Independence Day, ‘Pinas!

I wake up hearing the sound of the radio, the voices of the commentators rejoicing to the 112th Independence Day Celebration. I suddenly realized that Hey! It’s my birthday! C’mon, another year has been added to my life. And yes, this added year entails a greater responsibility of me being an adult. As what my mom have texted me, “Happy birthday anak, tumanda ka na naman,” as if she’s saying that I should act more like an adult.

What are my plans for this day? I don’t have any. I have no time to waste. I’m attending my very first class with the much talked about Mr. Barrientos. I have been hearing stories that Sir Barry is toxicity at its best. Well, might sound unfortunate to me that my birthday falls on my batch’s first ever meeting with him. What’s my first impression of Sir Barry? He projects this strong personality that will make his students “afraid” of him. But as we discussed, I thought that he’s another professor that will surely leave a mark in my student life. Enough of my stories about Sir Barry.

Part of the requirements for one of my subjects is to start my own blogsite. It is not until now that I will be able to fulfill my interest of posting my own blogs. Blogging might be one of the things I can do to mark my last year in the university and my 19th birthday. What are the perks of blogging? I can give five:

1. You will be able to speak your mind without restrictions.

      Isn’t it nice to be able to shout to the world your witty ideas, your fearless forecasts, and your insightful opinions? As what Article 3 Section 4 of the 1987 Constitution states, “No law shall be passed abridging the freedom of speech, of expression, or of the press…” Therefore we have the right to speak and express whatever we feel.

      Compared to speaking your mind in front of an audience, blogging is free from the pressure brought by public speaking. It just asks you to write and post.

2. Blogging requires you of going online.

        The Internet is so far the most powerful tool man can ever think of. With one click, everything you need is right in front of you – researches, profiles, maps, contact details. Maintaining a blog, therefore, will expose you to the internet each day of your life. As you go online, you’ll get updated with the latest local and international news, new products in the market, new hangout places, and almost all the things you would want to know. And besides, almost everyone is blogging, so why not give it a try?

3. Blogging will build your networks.

        Blogs function the same way as to how our favorite social networking sites function. Your blogs will help you find friends and make acquaintances. Who knows, your blog might be read by your most awaited “the one.”

4. Your name can be googled.

        Nowadays, job application happens online. It’s as easy as: you google a job that matches your qualifications, you e-mail your resume, you get a call, and you’re on your way to you job interview. Since your application happened online, who knows your employer might google you before offering you the job? It’s definitely a plus point if your employer finds out that you’re posting witty and informative blogs.

5. Blogging is a practice of your writing skills.

        Apart from the writing assignments given in school or at work, blogging is a way for you to enhance your writing and storytelling skills. Just think of the possibility of you being recognized or awarded because of your blog!

Let these five perks be my motivation in giving you the best blog entries that I could write.

Imma walk the walk and TALK the TALK!

Happy reading!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. galeaya
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 05:52:10

    Nice first post, Pam! Will be watching out for your Gates post! :3

    I particularly liked number 3, building networks. Blogging seems to be a perfect avenue for that – unlike the more common SNS, you can already gauge your compatibilty with others through their blog posts and comments. With blogs, it’s not just another picture or generic profile; we can have access to the [more personal, more genuine] thoughts of others. There’s a level of honesty and transparency there – which is sometimes not even available through face-to-face interactions. :}

    Reply

  2. barrycade
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 06:40:52

    Glad that you listed the “perks” of blogging, more than it being a class requirement. I hope many of your batchmates feel the same way. Indeed, some opportunities are missed because they are disguised as “requirements.” 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

